The Lawyer’s Well-Being Brief

Is embracing the suck asking too much?

Marc W. Crayton
2 min readDec 30, 2022

“Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.”- Thomas Edison

A podcast I was listening to mentioned a book entitled, “The Comfort Crisis” written by Michael Easter. I haven’t read the book yet, but it has an intriguing premise. “In many ways, we’re more comfortable than ever before. But could our sheltered, temperature-controlled, overfed, under-challenged lives actually be the leading cause of many of our most urgent physical and mental health issues?” In this gripping investigation, award-winning journalist Michael Easter seeks out off-the-grid visionaries, disruptive genius researchers, and mind-body conditioning trailblazers who are unlocking the life-enhancing secrets of a counterintuitive solution: discomfort. I am going to definitely grab the book and give it a read.

I like the idea of discomfort. I like the idea of leaning into discomfort even more. Everyone has a different level of discomfort they can embrace. In our household, we started doing cold immersions. My son puts his whole body and dips his head in, I put my whole body in, and my daughter puts her legs in, and my wife puts her feet in. We have all leaned into discomfort at a level that works for us individually.

Figure out how you can lean into discomfort and figure out what level works best for you. Once you find your level, then keep building from there. Forward, always!

--

--

Marc W. Crayton

I help newer, younger lawyers make better well-being decisions so that they can thrive personally and professionally. Forward, always!